+ Reply to Thread
Page 4 of 10 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 6 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 80 of 196

Thread: Computer Bug Help

  1. #61

    Default Re: Computer Bug Help

    It's futile. And very weird.

    Searching in the address bar goes to .es, typing in google.com goes to co.uk.

    Unchecking the box didn't do anything.

    So, what do you recommend? (using bing ATM)

  2. #62
    Okashira kmohyudin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    I CARE!! Where are you Kaku??

    Default Re: Computer Bug Help

    Alright do this then:

    Goto: Customize and control options (The tool icon)->options->Basics->Default Search->Manage->Add

    And then Enter the following information:

    Name: Google Eng
    Keyword: google in england!!
    URL: http://www.google.com/search?q=%s

    Press OK and then Make Default and see if that works.

    Or if you are computer savvy... do this:

    Goto (Windows Drive):\Documents and Settings\(USER NAME)\Local Settings\Application Data\Google\Chrome\User Data (In XP)

    and find the file named Local State.

    Open it in Notepad

    Press Ctrl+F and search for the following

    "last_known_google_url": "http://www.google.com.XX/",
    "last_prompted_google_url": "http://www.google.com.XX/",

    Edit the values of XX to your liking. Should do the trick...
    Last edited by kmohyudin; October 27th, 2010 at 11:03 AM. Reason: It IS a lousy temp fix though...
    Quote Originally Posted by xterm
    The problem with [the world] is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be a capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?
    Thanks Sky for the Avatar

  3. #63
    Discovered Stowaway
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Some island in new world

    Default Re: Computer Bug Help

    shift to firefox
    ...

  4. #64

    Default Re: Computer Bug Help

    Quote Originally Posted by kmohyudin View Post
    Alright do this then:

    Goto: Customize and control options (The tool icon)->options->Basics->Default Search->Manage->Add

    And then Enter the following information:

    Name: Google Eng
    Keyword: google in england!!
    URL: http://www.google.com/search?q=%s

    Press OK and then Make Default and see if that works.

    Or if you are computer savvy... do this:

    Goto (Windows Drive):\Documents and Settings\(USER NAME)\Local Settings\Application Data\Google\Chrome\User Data (In XP)

    and find the file named Local State.

    Open it in Notepad

    Press Ctrl+F and search for the following

    "last_known_google_url": "http://www.google.com.XX/",
    "last_prompted_google_url": "http://www.google.com.XX/",

    Edit the values of XX to your liking. Should do the trick...
    Well, that worked.

    I did all that a long time ago, but the only reason I failed was that I didn't add the "s" after the "%".

    Muchos gracias.

  5. #65
    Okashira kmohyudin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    I CARE!! Where are you Kaku??

    Default Re: Computer Bug Help

    Quote Originally Posted by IrishLuigi View Post
    Well, that worked.

    I did all that a long time ago, but the only reason I failed was that I didn't add the "s" after the "%".

    Muchos gracias.
    Glad to be of help .
    Quote Originally Posted by xterm
    The problem with [the world] is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be a capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?
    Thanks Sky for the Avatar

  6. #66

    Default Re: Computer Bug Help

    -_____-


    Hi everybody. I have a long story filled with stupidity, and viruses.

    I have a new laptop and I decided to watch a movie. I found a link to said movie and watched about 20 minutes of it when it stopped and my computer alerted me that I had a trojan virus. So it said it was "successfully removed". Then my computer shuts down and restarts and I get a "Windows Thinkpoint" prompt that basically forces me to scan my computer for viruses and fixes all but 11 problems then says it will have to do something else to fix those 11 problems, then asks for your billing address and credit card information. Now, I'm not the smartest person around, of course, but I'm certainly not stupid. The virus was this windows thinkpoint thing. I googled it on my other computer and it's part of the virus. I don't know what to do, considering I can't get onto my computer because I can't get past that windows thinkpoint thing. I'm probably gonna have to take it to that best buy geek squad. So has anyone heard about this particular virus?

    Oh, and I don't have an antivirus software on the computer that got infected. Smart, I know -_-.

    Plus, I'm permanently logged onto AP on my computer so I hope the virus doesn't do anything on this end.




  7. #67
    Crocus for 2011 puffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Laughing at your Worthlessness, Zehahaha~!

    Default Re: Computer Bug Help

    Quote Originally Posted by Badass SnoCone View Post
    -_____-


    Hi everybody. I have a long story filled with stupidity, and viruses.

    I have a new laptop and I decided to watch a movie. I found a link to said movie and watched about 20 minutes of it when it stopped and my computer alerted me that I had a trojan virus. So it said it was "successfully removed". Then my computer shuts down and restarts and I get a "Windows Thinkpoint" prompt that basically forces me to scan my computer for viruses and fixes all but 11 problems then says it will have to do something else to fix those 11 problems, then asks for your billing address and credit card information. Now, I'm not the smartest person around, of course, but I'm certainly not stupid. The virus was this windows thinkpoint thing. I googled it on my other computer and it's part of the virus. I don't know what to do, considering I can't get onto my computer because I can't get past that windows thinkpoint thing. I'm probably gonna have to take it to that best buy geek squad. So has anyone heard about this particular virus?

    Oh, and I don't have an antivirus software on the computer that got infected. Smart, I know -_-.

    Plus, I'm permanently logged onto AP on my computer so I hope the virus doesn't do anything on this end.
    Well, I found a guide that looks pretty helpful.

    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/viru...ove-thinkpoint

    2nd Member of Vepe's Pack!
    Quote Originally Posted by Greg View Post
    You're so awesome puffin. Thank God you just barely joined in 2009.


  8. #68

    Default Re: Computer Bug Help

    I had it once. perhaps my ways were unorthodox, but I located the trojan, and wham! safemode delet'd

  9. #69

    Default Re: Computer Bug Help

    Quote Originally Posted by puffin View Post
    Well, I found a guide that looks pretty helpful.

    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/viru...ove-thinkpoint
    Thanks Puffin, but I brought it to best buy and they're currently working on it. :s

    But thanks again.




  10. #70

    Default Re: Computer Bug Help

    Hi. I'm having a lot of trouble with 'CPU Usage' on my Task Manager. On Windows Vista. My problem is that it seems to be up in the 70s-90s most of the time and on startup I always have to spend 10-15 mins going through task manager and switching off things my comp decides to load on start-up.

    So is there a way to lower this? I switch of all of the unimportant stuff but even with all of that off there are like 70 processes running at the same time. Not helped by the likes of Windows Update which pops up whenever it's closed.

    Somebody recommended that I go to the run menu and then go from there. But I don't think Vista has run

  11. #71
    Okashira kmohyudin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    I CARE!! Where are you Kaku??

    Default Re: Computer Bug Help

    Quote Originally Posted by Cyber-Robin View Post
    Hi. I'm having a lot of trouble with 'CPU Usage' on my Task Manager. On Windows Vista. My problem is that it seems to be up in the 70s-90s most of the time and on startup I always have to spend 10-15 mins going through task manager and switching off things my comp decides to load on start-up.

    So is there a way to lower this? I switch of all of the unimportant stuff but even with all of that off there are like 70 processes running at the same time. Not helped by the likes of Windows Update which pops up whenever it's closed.

    Somebody recommended that I go to the run menu and then go from there. But I don't think Vista has run
    Vista has run... all of them have run. If you can't find it, press window+R (by window, I mean the window key located between Ctrl and Alt).
    Quote Originally Posted by xterm
    The problem with [the world] is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be a capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?
    Thanks Sky for the Avatar

  12. #72
    Assistant Pig-Keeper iPenguin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Prydain

    Default Re: Computer Bug Help

    I am not completely sure if this is the same method on Vista as it is XP(I use XP), but if you go to run then type msconfig there should be a startup tab where you can uncheck items you don't want to boot at start up.

  13. #73
    Discovered Stowaway
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Some island in new world

    Default Re: Computer Bug Help

    Quote Originally Posted by kmohyudin View Post
    Vista has run... all of them have run. If you can't find it, press window+R (by window, I mean the window key located between Ctrl and Alt).
    Quote Originally Posted by iPenguin View Post
    I am not completely sure if this is the same method on Vista as it is XP(I use XP), but if you go to run then type msconfig there should be a startup tab where you can uncheck items you don't want to boot at start up.
    both steps required :D
    ...

  14. #74
    Must've been rats Sakonosolo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Homey Airport

    Default Re: Computer Bug Help

    I have 7 and pressing windows+R searches for documents starting with r.

  15. #75
    Back To Black Flux's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    United Kingdom

    Default Re: Computer Bug Help

    Quote Originally Posted by Cyber-Robin View Post
    Hi. I'm having a lot of trouble with 'CPU Usage' on my Task Manager. On Windows Vista. My problem is that it seems to be up in the 70s-90s most of the time and on startup I always have to spend 10-15 mins going through task manager and switching off things my comp decides to load on start-up.

    So is there a way to lower this? I switch of all of the unimportant stuff but even with all of that off there are like 70 processes running at the same time. Not helped by the likes of Windows Update which pops up whenever it's closed.

    Somebody recommended that I go to the run menu and then go from there. But I don't think Vista has run
    I had the same programs. I went to startup programs in the control panel and got rid of loads of ones that automatically started up which are unnescessary.

    Also, I frequently open the Task Manager and delete 10 or so processes.
    Quote Originally Posted by sanji499 View Post
    I wonder what was Bale's reaction when the stunt double broke the imax camera?
    Quote Originally Posted by Silvers Rayleigh View Post
    In the United States we don't have much manga around, specifically One Piece, and mainly the newer chapters - Jan 2011

  16. #76
    Okashira kmohyudin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    I CARE!! Where are you Kaku??

    Default Re: Computer Bug Help

    Quote Originally Posted by Sakonosolo View Post
    I have 7 and pressing windows+R searches for documents starting with r.
    ... This is very weird... Win+R should most definitely open the run dialog box on all versions of windows... is it possible that you have changed the shortcuts? Cuz this is the first I've heard of something like this.
    Quote Originally Posted by xterm
    The problem with [the world] is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be a capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?
    Thanks Sky for the Avatar

  17. #77
    Discovered Stowaway
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Some island in new world

    Default Re: Computer Bug Help

    simply typing msconfig and then pressing enter in start menu search will do the trick too
    ...

  18. #78

    Default Re: Computer Bug Help

    My aunt recently cleaned up my computer for me since it's running slow. THen she went to defrag it. It's showing a 46% freespace, so it DEFINITELY needs the defragging. However I keep getting this error that says 'chkdsk' is scheduled to run and that I need to run it.
    However, I don't know the the hell 'chkdsk' is or how to run it. I went to the help menu for the defragmentor, but all it says is:

    "You cannot defragment volumes that the file system has marked as dirty, which indicates possible corruption. You must run chkdsk on a dirty volume before you can defragment it. You can determine if a volume is dirty by using the fsutil dirty query command. For more information about chkdsk and fsutil dirty, see Related Topics."

    I tried searing for these 'related topics', but that's the only thing it comes up with in the search for both chkdsk and fsutil dirty.
    Anyone know how to get the chkdsk or fsutil dirty things to work?
    Quote Originally Posted by Drake_Cloud View Post
    He didn't come back because he thought he could win, he came back because he's a goddamn hero and that's what heroes do.


  19. #79

    Default Re: Computer Bug Help

    i got no idea what's going on, but try to google this stuff. you'd be surprised what helpful stuff will come up.

  20. #80

    Default Re: Computer Bug Help

    I did a search and it told me to run: chkdsk c: /f
    Now it tells me that c: drive is in use and I can't run it until it closes and it says that it'll run when I turn the comp on next. Then it's telling me I gotta install some shit.

    I'm going to staples. I don't like the idea of killing my computer. At least if they fuck it up I'll have someone else to blame >3>
    Quote Originally Posted by Drake_Cloud View Post
    He didn't come back because he thought he could win, he came back because he's a goddamn hero and that's what heroes do.


+ Reply to Thread

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts